No-Fault Accidents
No Legal Fees Until You Settle or Win
Get Free Case Review

Michigan Catastrophic Claims

Persons severley injured in Michigan car accidents have access to tremendous medical payment benefits for their treatement.  This is especially important in cases involving catastrophic injuries, like traumatic brain injuries, spinal cord injuries, and severe orthopaedic injuries.

Michigan is the only state which offers unlimited medical coverage under its No-Fault laws for individuals injured in an automobile accident.    This means that the no-fault insurer is responsible for paying for all reasonable and necessary medical expenses relating to injuries sustained in an automobile accident, no matter the amount of the bills and no matter how far into future the bills are incurred.

The Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association (MCCA) was created by the Michigan legislature as a means of spreading costs across all Michigan motorists for providing these unlimited medical benefits and other no-fault benefits.   As of July 1, 2007, the MCCA reimburses no-fault auto insurers for benefits that exceed $420,000.00.

Although created by statute, the MCCA is a private, nonprofit association, whose board of directors consists of five representatives from insurance companies appointed by the Commissioner of the Office of Financial and Insurance Services (OFIS) according to statute.

The MCCA every year charges an assessment  to every Michigan auto insurance premium to cover the lifetime claims of all people catastrophically injured in a car accident.  This assessment is then passed on to policyholders by the no-fault auto insurer.


Contact a Southfield, Michigan, auto accident attorney serving the greater Detroit area.

We represent Michigan personal injury clients in Detroit, Southfield, Pontiac, Troy, Warren, Grand Rapids, Muskegon, Lansing, East Lansing, Battle Creek, Kalamazoo, Bloomfield Hills, West Bloomfield, Farmington Hills, Rochester, Auburn Hills, Clarkston, Birmingham, Ferndale, Flint, Novi, Pontiac, Troy, Saginaw, Sterling Heights, Waterford, Wayne, Dearborn, Westland, Canton, Monroe, Ann Arbor, Mount Clemens, Livonia, Grayling, Grosse Pointe, St. Clair Shores, Brighton, Adrian, Allen Park, Clinton, Hamtramck, Northville, Garden City,  Southgate, Harrison, Holland, Inkster, Allen Park, Belleville, Jackson, Madison Heights, Mount Pleasant, Oak Park, Okemos, Plymouth, Redford, Roseville, Romulus, Taylor,  Wyandotte, Wyoming, Traverse City, Ypsilanti, Bad Axe,  Northern Michigan, as well as residents of Wayne County, Kent County, Oakland County, Macomb County, Washtenaw County, Genesee County, Huron County, St. Clair County, Monroe County, Ingham County, Saginaw County, Livingston County, Lenawee County and all other Michigan counties.