Michigan boating injury lawyers at the law firm of Buckfire & Buckfire P.C. represent individuals and their families who have suffered serious drowning injuries or drowning deaths in small boat accidents, motor craft accident, jet ski accidents, sailboat accidents and collisions with decks and docks.
In a recent report compiled by the United States Coast Guard, 90 percent of the people who drown in a boating or water accident would be alive today if they had been wearing a life jacket at the time of the accident. In addition, other research has shown that drowning is the main cause of death in recreational boating accidents.
Life Vest Safety Requirements
Our boat accident lawyers at Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. want to ensure that you and your family stay safe this summer while enjoying a leisurely ride on your boat. As a resource to our clients we have provided U.S. Coast Guard life vest requirements below:
- Children less than 6 years of age must wear a Type I or Type II Personal Floatation Device (PFD) when riding in the open deck area of a boat.
- Each person 12 years of age or older operating, riding on or being towed behind a personal watercraft must wear a Type I, Type II or Type III PFD.
- Vessels less than 16 feet must be equipped with one Type I, II, III or IV PFD for each person on board.
- All vessels less than 16 feet, used on the Great Lakes or connecting waterways, to carry one approved Type I, II, or III device for each person on board.
- Vessels 16 feet and longer, in addition to the Type I, II, or III for each person on board must carry one type IV, excluding canoes and kayaks.
Lawsuits for Boat Accident Injuries and Deaths
Standards for liability in a boating accident vary from state to state. In most cases, a person is at fault if he or she acted negligently. The general rule is that people act negligently when they do not conduct themselves as a reasonable person would in a similar situation. This usually means whether they followed all safety rules including providing the adequate amount of life vests on board and were mindful of the safety of their passengers and other boaters.
Michigan Boating Injury Lawyer No Fee Promise
Our boat accident lawyer in Michigan will represent you in your boating injury case under our NO FEE PROMISE. You have absolutely no obligation for legal fees unless we win your case. If we do not obtain a settlement for you, you owe us nothing!
Contact Your Michigan Boating Injury Lawyer Now
If you or a family member has been injured in a boat accident, you should contact our Michigan boating injury attorneys immediately. Call us now at (800) 606-1717, or simply fill out the orange Get Help Now box to the right of this page and "Click to Send" to speak with one of our experienced attorneys about your case. Our office will start working on your case immediately and begin gathering witness statements and evidence to prove and win your case.