Birth Injury / Cerebral Palsy
No Legal Fees Until You Settle or Win
Get Free Case Review

Classification of Cerebral Palsy

Cerebral palsy (CP) is caused by an injury to the brain or by abnormal brain development. Even though injury is neurological, it causes affects to the body that impair movement, coordination, balance and posture. There are various types of cerebral palsy.

In addition to the various types of CP, there are secondary conditions caused by the motor impairment, as well as other co-mitigating factors which contribute to the child’s impairment. Every child is unique with varying factors of impairment. Classification is important in understanding the individual’s impairment, and for coordinating management of care.

Buckfire & Buckfire P.C. birth injury attorneys handle cases involving cerebral palsy injuries.  This can be a very serious condition that affects a child throughout their lifetime.  There are times in which this injury could have been prevented and this can give rise to a child birth injury medical malpractice lawsuit.

Classification & Severity Level of CP

Cerebral palsy is often classified by severity level as mild, moderate, severe, or no CP. These are broad generalizations that lack a specific set of criteria. Below is the common classification which offers a simple method of communicating the scope of impairment.

  • Mild: Mild cerebral palsy means a child can move without assistance; his or her daily activities are not limited.
  • Moderate: Moderate cerebral palsy means a child will need braces, medications, and adaptive technology to accomplish daily activities.
  • Severe: Severe cerebral palsy means a child will require a wheelchair and will have significant challenges in accomplishing daily activities.
  • No cerebral palsy: No CP means the child has cerebral palsy signs, but the impairment was acquired after completion of brain development and is therefore classified under the incident that caused the cerebral palsy, such as traumatic brain injury or encephalopathy.

Statute of Limitations For Michigan Cerebral Palsy Malpractice Lawsuits

The statute of limitations for medical malpractice cases varies from state to state. In Michigan, you must file a medical malpractice lawsuit within two years of the date of the malpractice. If you miss a deadline, your claim will be lost forever. To avoid these severe consequences, you should contact the Michigan malpractice lawyers at Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. immediately.

Our No Fee Promise for Michigan Cerebral Palsy Malpractice Cases

We will represent you in your Michigan birth injury case under our NO FEE PROMISE. This means that you will not be charged any legal fees whatsoever unless we obtain a settlement or recovery for you. You have absolutely no obligation for legal fees unless we win your case.  If we do not obtain a settlement for you, you owe us nothing!

Contact a Michigan Cerebral Palsy Medical Malpractice Lawyer

Families of children suffering from cerebral palsy should contact one of our Michigan medical malpractice attorneys now to discuss your case and learn your legal rights. Call our award winning law firm now at (800) 606-1717 or simply fill out the Get Help Now box to the right of this page and "Click to Send."  One our expert cerebral palsy Michigan attorneys will be in contact with you shortly.