When may a bike passenger ride without a helmet under the new Michigan motorcycle law?
The bike passengers may ride without a helmet in Michigan if they are over 21 and fall into one of the following scenarios:
If the bike passenger is insured by a motorcycle policy which provides at least $20,000.00 in medical coverage which is payable in the event he/she is involved in an accident; OR
If the operator has on his/her motorcycle policy BOTH $20,000 in medical coverage for himself/herself AND an additional $20,000 in medical coverage to cover the passenger. (Ex. Medical coverage of $20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident)
To learn more about the state helmet law requirements in Michigan, read our recent blog: Michigan's Motorcycle Helmet Law Repeal Signed. The blog discusses the new bill (Senate Bill 291) and the requirements of Michigan motorcycle riders.
The new motorcycle helmet law, which was vetoed twice by former Gov. Jennifer Granholm, and pushed through by Republicans, is supported by motorcyclists and others who believe helmet use should be a matter of personal choice. In fact, our motorcycle accident lawyers found that Michigan will become the 31st state to give motorcyclists the option to choose. By clicking on the link above you will also be able to view the awesome "State Motorcycle Helmet Law" Graphic our lawyers created to help bikers determine the motorcycle helmet law in each state.
Call now to speak with one of our lawyers 1-800-606-1717