Michigan No-Fault Insurance Frequently Asked Questions
As Michigan no-fault insurance lawyers, we recognize that when you are in an accident, understanding the Michigan no-fault insurance rules can be difficult. We try to answer many of these questions here. Of course, you probably have many questions that are unique to your situation, and may need the attention of an excellent Michigan no-fault attorney.
If your questions are not answered below, call us at any time at (800) 606-1717 and a lawyer will be available to answer all your questions. There is no charge for this phone call. If you have a claim, we will help you file and guide you every step of the way. You will not pay anything until you receive your settlement check! There is nothing to lose!
- Page 6
Can a parent get paid attendant care services by the insurance company for taking care of a child who was injured in a Michigan car accident?
Yes, if a physican prescribes attendant care services for the child during the period of recovery. The rate of pay is determined on a number of factors, including the type of injury, the level of care, and the location of the child.
Does a No-Fault Insurance Company have to pay for funeral expenses if someone dies in a Michigan car accident ?
Yes. Under the Michigan No-Fault laws, the insurance company must pay a portion of the funeral expenses if a person dies in a motor vehicle accident. Section 3107(1)(a) of the Michigan No-Fault law provides for the payment of funeral and burial expenses of an amount not less than $1,750 and no more than $5,000. This amount will actually depend on the type of no-fault insurance coverage you purchased.
Can I sue a negligent driver for my lost wages and loss of income due to injuries that I suffered in a Michigan car accident ?
Under the Michigan No-Fault laws, you must first claim your lost wages against your own auto insurance company as a part of your No-Fault claim. This is called a "Wage and Income Loss Benefits" claim. Your own company, or another company if you did not have your own policy, must pay 85% of your gross wages for up to three years after the accident. There is a maximum limit to this amount and you may seek any amount in excess of that limit from the negligent driver. Also, if you are disabled beyond the first three years, you can claim this against the negligent driver.
What are PIP Benefits in Michigan?
PIP benefits are actually Personal Injury Protection Benefits under the Michigan No-Fault Insurance laws. They are available for people who have been injured in a Michigan Car Accident. For an explanation of the different types of benefits available, see our Page on Michigan No-Fault Insurance benefits.
How can I be sure that I am buying the best Michigan car insurance coverage?
A great place to start is our Free Michigan Car Insurance Report. It explains the different types of auto insurance coverage and why you need certain types of coverage to protect your family and yourself.
Does a Michigan auto insurance coverage have to pay a family member for providing services to another injured member of the family after a Michigan car accident?
Yes, if the services are necessary and reasonable and related to the car accident. Payment for these services comes within your Michigan No-Fault Insurance Policy.
These include replacement services, or referred to as household services, and attendant care services. Replacement services include things like doing laundry, cooking meals, assistance with bathing, and taking out the garbage. Attendant care services are for more intensive things, like supervision, dispensing medications, and services that are often provided by outside nursing agencies. If a family member provides a similar service, the auto insurance company must pay the same or similar rate to the family member.
How much can I receive for lost wages if I am injured in a Michigan car accident?
Your Michigan No-Fault insurance company must pay 85% of your pay if you are disabled from work due to a car accident. This also applies to bicycle accidents and pedestrian accidents. You must have an Attending Physicians Report from your doctor verifying your disability and a Wage Loss Verification form from your employer. The benefits are payable up to three years from the date of the car accident, unless you are released to work by your physician before the end of that period. If you were temporarily unemployed, looking for a job, or a seasonal employee, you are also entitled to these benefits.
My husband was killed in a fatal Michigan car accident . The accident was his fault. Are there any benefits that I can claim related to his accident?
Yes, if he had a Michigan car insurance policy at the time of the accident, you can make a Michigan No-Fault insurance claim for Survivor's Loss benefits. If he was working at the time of the accident or looking for a job, you could receive three years of lost wages, funeral expenses, and other benefits.
What is the Michigan Assigned Claims Facility ?
The Michigan Assigned Claims Facility is a state agency that assigns a no-fault insurance company to pay claims for a person injured in a Michigan car accident who does not have their own no-fault insurance policy. There are certain requirements for eligibility, but the owner of an uninsured automobile is not entitled to these benefits, nor is the operator of a stolen vehicle.
Can a family member get paid to take care of me while I recover from my injuries by my auto insurance company?
Yes, family members are entitled to be paid for caring for you while your recover from your Michigan car accident injuries. These are known as "Attendant Care Services" and are an allowable expense under the Michigan No-Fault system.