Toll-Free: (800) 606-1717
Phone: (248) 569-4646
Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C.

Michigan Drunk Driving Accident FAQs

michigan drunk driving accident lawyersAs Michigan drunk driving accident lawyers, we recognize that victims of drunk driver accidents in Michigan have a lot of questions about their legal rights. We try to answer many of your questions below.  Of course, you probably have a question or concern unique to your own individual case that needs the attention of an experienced Michigan injury and accident attorney.

If your questions are not answered below, we strongly encourage you to pick up the phone and call one of our experienced drunk driving attorneys now at (800) 606-1717.  We'll take the time to fully answer your questions.  There is no fee and absolutely no obligation whatsoever for this advice.  You can also complete our online contact form and a lawyer will get back to you shortly.

  • Page 1
  • Who is best attorney in Michigan for a drunk driving accident lawsuit?

    Finding the best lawyer in Michigan for a drunk driving accident lawsuit can be difficult task. When looking to hire an attorney after your Michigan drunk driving accident, you may want to ask the attorney the following questions:

    • What percentage of your practice is devoted to handling serious auto accident injury claims?
    • Have you ever written a book on drunk driving accidents, auto accidents and insurance claims?
    • Have you ever spoken to groups of other lawyers and professionals about auto accident cases and auto insurance laws?
    • Do you have a website with information on auto accident cases and free forms that I can print to make my insurance claims?
    • Have you ever taken an auto accident case involving a drunk driver to trial for your client?
    • What kinds of settlements have you received for your clients?

    The lawyers at Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. will give you direct answers to all of those questions, as well as answer any other questions that you may have regarding your case and your legal rights. Our firm has represented drunk driving accident injury victims and their families for over 40 years throughout the State of Michigan, and has the knowledge, expertise, and experience in handling these types of cases. We have a track record of obtaining sizeable Michigan drunk driving accident settlements and jury verdicts for our injured clients and providing the best service possible.

    For more information about our award winning law firm and to discuss your case with one of our best lawyers for your Michigan drunk driving accident lawsuit, call our office now at (800) 606-1717.  We offer a No Win, No Fee promise, meaning our clients do not pay a penny until the case is settled or won. Call today for your free consultation!

     

  • What happens in Michigan if a drunk driver causes a crash that injured or kills a person?

    In Michigan the laws are tough on motorists who drink and drive and cause a crash resulting in injury or wrongful death. If a drunk driver causes serious injury, the driver may face a maximum $5,000 fine and five years in jail. In crashes resulting in a death, the drunk driver may face a maximum $10,000 fine and 15 years in jail. The drunk driver also faces a maximum five-year license revocation, three-year vehicle immobilization-unless forfeited-and vehicle registration denial.

  • Can I sue the bar in Michigan that sold alcohol to the drunk driver?

    In order to pursue a drunk driving lawsuit in Michigan under the Dram Shop Law, the injured party must prove that the injury or death was caused by a retail licensee's unlawful selling, giving, or furninshing of alcohol to a "visibly intoxicated person" or a minor. Visible intoxication is intoxication "apparent to an ordinary observer." Furnishing intoxicants to a minor (a person younger than 21) is per se unlawful and visible intoxication need not be shown.
     

  • How do I prove in Michigan that the drunk driver was visibly intoxicated at the time that the bar served the alcohol?

    Under Michigan case law, you must establish that the person was visibly intoxicated when served alcohol through eyewitness testimony to prove that the drunk driver was intoxicated at the time. This requires identifying and locating other people who were present at the time and obtaining testimony from them on how the person looked and acted at the time.

    It is important to choose a lawyer as soon as possible after the accident so that an investigator is hired to locate all potential witnesses. To get specific information about your case, you should contact our Michigan Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers at (800) 606-1717.

  • How much time do I have to sue a bar or restaurant after being injured in a Michigan drunk driving accident ?

    In Michigan, there are shortened time limitations in which to bring a claim against a liquor licensee under the Dram Shop Act. First there is a 120 day notice provision which requires the victim to send written notice to the liquor licensee within 120 days of retaining an attorney. Second, a dram shop lawsuit must be filed in the proper trial court within 2 years after the injury or death from the Michigan car accident. It is also necessary to name and retain the drunk driver in the lawsuit. This is another reason why it is so important to choose your lawyer as soon as possible after the accident.

    To get specific information about your case and learn your legal rights after a Michigan DUI accident, you should contact our Michigan Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers at (800) 606-1717.

  • What is "Social Host Liability" in Michigan?

    The Dram Shop law controls liability in cases involving retail liquor licensees. There are, of course, circumstances in which a drunk driver was furnished alcohol at a private residence, party, or event. In those circumstances, Michigan law can impose liability under what is called "Social Host Liability." Social host liability is the potential liability of a person or an entity other than a bar or restaurant for the unlawful furnishing of alcoholic beverages. The liability of a social host in Michigan has been recognized only in the case of providing alcohol to a minor.

  • Can I sue the host that provided the minor alcohol in a Michigan drunk driving accident ?

    The "social host" must knowingly provide alcoholic beverages to a minor or have failed to dilligently inquire whether the individual was less than 21 years old. The Michigan Courts have held that the social host must actually provide the alcoholic beverages and not just the setting in which the alcohol is consumed. However, if the minor is under 18, the parents may have a duty to supervise the minor children and this can provide the basis for a lawsuit.

  • I was injured by a drunk driver in a Detroit car accident. Can I sue the bar that served him the alcohol?

    This is called a "dram shop case" and you can sue the bar, restaurant, or store that sold him the alcohol that caused his intoxication if you can prove that he was visibly intoxicated at the time he was sold the alcohol

Detroit Area Office
  • 29000 Inkster Road, Suite 150
    Southfield, MI 48034
  • Phone: (248) 569-4646
  • Fax: (248) 569-6737
  • Toll Free: (800) 606-1717
  • Get Directions
Ann Arbor Office
Macomb County Office