The Michigan car accident lawyers at Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. represent clients who have suffered serious injuries from a motor vehicle accident in Michigan. This includes victims of car accidents, motorcycle accidents, bicycle accidents, and pedestrian accidents. Due to injuries suffered in the accident, the injury victim misses time from work and suffers from a loss of wages.
Under Michigan law, most injury victims in an auto accident are entitled to receive payment of lost wages under the Michigan no-fault insurance laws. It must be medically established that the disabling injuries arose from the motor vehicle accident. In many circumstances, the injury victim can receive these benefits even if he or she did not own a car or have a no-fault insurance policy.
The Michigan no-fault insurance law provides for payment for lost wages MCL 500.3107.
(b) Work loss consisting of loss of income from work an injured person would have performed during the first 3 years after the date of the accident if he or she had not been injured. Work loss does not include any loss after the date on which the injured person dies. Because the benefits received from personal protection insurance for loss of income are not taxable income, the benefits payable for such loss of income shall be reduced 15% unless the claimant presents to the insurer in support of his or her claim reasonable proof of a lower value of the income tax advantage in his or her case, in which case the lower value shall apply. Beginning March 30, 1973, the benefits payable for work loss sustained in a single 30-day period and the income earned by an injured person for work during the same period together shall not exceed $1,000.00, which maximum shall apply pro rata to any lesser period of work loss. This provision is broadly defined but includes medical expenses, hospitalization bills, rehabilitation expenses, prescription expenses, and even attendant care services. These benefits are lifetime benefits with no limits. The expenses must be justified as necessary and reasonable.
Our car accident legal team will determine if you are entitled to payment of your wage loss claim and which insurance company will be required to pay for your lost wages. We will then assist you in submitting your claim in a timely manner so that it meet the required deadlines under the Michigan car accident laws.
Get started on your Michigan car accident case today by calling our law firm at (800) 606-1717 or fill in the e Get Help Now box on this page and press “Click to Send.” We will call you shortly to discuss your case. There are strict time limits for filing claims so it is important that you call now.