Toll-Free: (800) 606-1717
Phone: (248) 569-4646
Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C.

As an operator of a motorcycle, under what circumstances may I ride in Michigan without a helmet?

An operator of a Michigan motorcycle does not have to wear a crash helmet if:
1. He/she is 21 or older; AND
2a. Has had motorcycle endorsement for at least 2 years OR
2b. Passes motorcycle safety course conducted under section 811a or 811b; AND
3. has in effect his/her motorcycle insurance policy for the motorcycle they are riding security for first party medical benefits payable in the event he or she is involved in a motorcycle accident in the following amounts:

-At least $20,000 if no passenger

-At least $20,000 per person per accident if with a passenger

-However, if passenger has security on their own motorcycle insurance policy of at least $20,000.00 payable in the event he/she is involved in a motorcycle accident, then the operator must only have at least $20,000.00 of coverage.

For more information on state motorcycle helmet laws, our motorcycle accident lawyers created a state helmet law graphic to help bikers determine the law in each state while traveling. To view this graphic click here: Michigan motorcycle accident lawyers.
Detroit Area Office
  • 25800 Northwestern Highway #890
    Southfield, MI 48075
  • Phone: (248) 569-4646
  • Fax: (248) 569-6737
  • Toll Free: (800) 606-1717
  • Get Directions
Ann Arbor Office
Macomb County Office